Interview with Screendeath

Ryan Thompson, a.k.a Screendeath, is one of the most exciting producers around at the moment. His upcoming track Packback has been hyped all over the place, and I’ve been lucky enough to get an exclusive interview with him. Check out his upcoming track Packback here:

First off, Packback is out on October 4th right? Is it going to be coupled with If It Isn’t and the Clouds Packback remix, or what’s the plan for the EP?

Yep, the Packback EP drops officially on October 4th on Southern Fried Records but can be picked up from September 20th exclusively on Beatport. It’s got both an NT89 remix and a Clouds remix on it as well as the B-side ‘Citral’. ‘If It Isn’t’ is sitting off this EP as it’s getting its own EP on the brand new Deadbeats label that’s just been set up by Ed Trotter (of Coin Operated Boy fame) and Louis Buck (from the Louis Louis blog). Excited to see how Deadbeats does!

What got you into dance music and production in the first place, and how long have you been producing?

Haha I suppose the first time I heard dance music I liked was when I accidentally stumbled across Justice around mid-2008… it was a genre that I’d never really had any interest in looking into simply because all my friends were listening to rock or rap and I was happy to follow suit! When I found out that making electronic music didn’t require anything more than a computer, I decided to have a go and was instantly hooked haha… I suppose that means I’ve been producing for just under 2 years.

For the producers, what do you use to produce, do you use hardware, and what’s your favourite DAW?

I started with FL Studio and never saw a reason to change to anything else, so still using it. I don’t get the hate at all. I originally tried Albino but I’m not a fan of overly-complicated synths because I’m easily confused by technology haha so started learning how to use the built-in 3xOsc instead. It’s pretty much the most basic synth of all time, but sounds great and has everything you really need pre-effects. I’ve been using a laptop and some headphones but keep telling myself I need to buy a midi keyboard… I will eventually (probably!)

You have a very original sound in your productions, especially in your synth lines and sounds, where do you think that came from?

Thanks :) err, not entirely sure… I’ve played violin since I was young, so that probably explains trying to get a melody of some sort in. I like the idea of a real sorta lazy or sleazy sound in lead lines, so try to get as much glide in between notes as I can get away with!

If you believe the hype, or Clouds’ interview with Louis Louis, this release is going to be huge, so what’s your plan for the year once it comes out?

Haha I don’t believe the hype, so I guess I’ll leave it up to you to decide that one… I’m seeing more gigs coming in for the next few months so hopefully that continues for a bit! At the moment I’m trying to finish up my next EP as well as a few remixes but I’m starting university in a few weeks so it might be a while before the follow-up EP is done haha.

Aside from your own, what releases are you most looking forward to over the coming months?

Machinedrum’s posted some awesome unreleased tracks on his Soundcloud in the last few weeks (particularly Van Vogue), hopefully some of those will see the light of day in the not-too-distant future. Melé’s Grizzly EP is set to be huge too, Mugged’s easily one of the best tracks I’ve heard this year and everything Grizzly’s put out has been great. Aside from that I’m excited to see what NT89’s going to be putting out, his track ‘Persian’ is just too good!

What tracks have been your favourite for playing out over the summer?

My favourite track from Summer is definitely Hudson Mohawke’s remix of Wiley – Electric Boogaloo. It’s just such a beast when it drops! I’m really enjoying Manaré’s ‘Quiet Riot’ EP, especially Blitzkrieg Riddim which just seems to go off every time it’s dropped. The Zombies For Money remix of Drop The Lime’s ‘Sex Sax’ is a firm favourite too.

Have you got any tracks to give away for the readers?

Yeah, here’s my remix for Crystal Fighters’ last single In The Summer:

http://www.mediafire.com/?zogzjzz5dyg

Hope you enjoy it! :)

2 thoughts on “Interview with Screendeath

  1. Pingback: Forward/Slash September Chart | Forward/Slash

  2. Pingback: Exclusive Interview with Faisal | Forward/Slash

Leave a Reply

