Needs More Moombahton

A DJ friend of mine, Haido, played basically a full Moombahton set last night at Crawdaddy, so I thought I’d do a bit of a post about it. For those who don’t know, Moombahton is basically dutch house slowed down to 110bpm, with acapellas over the top of it. And it’s so good. It was invented by a guy called Dave Nada, who was playing a party one morning, and decided to try it. He says:

So I had the idea of slowing down some of the tropical/Dutch house stuff I had on CDs. Afrojack’s “Moombah Remix” being the biggest tune, I said fuck it and turned that shit down to 108 bpm. JP told all his people about me so bamas started cheering when I went on. And that’s when shit popped the fuck off. The minute that T-t-t-t-turn up the bass! part came in and dropped the place went insane! I played it all the way til the end and then did the same to Sidney Samson’s “Riverside” and EVERYONE is yelling the “Riverside motherfucker!” part and shit was just too much. I was losin’ it and told myself, I need to make some edits of this shit! And thus, Moombahton was born.

Read more: http://www.thefader.com/2010/03/05/dave-nada-creator-of-moombahton-interview-mp3s/#ixzz12Xk38239

Check out and download some of the stuff below, and if that’s not enough, here‘s a Moombahton megamix by mister Moombahton himself, Dave Nada.

Dave Nada – Moombahton (the first Moombahton track made)

DJ Neoteric – Hey Got Lines

Duck Sauce — Barbara Streiz (Eymnd Moombahton Edit)

Leave a Reply

